caymancake

Just another WordPress.com site

Let The Wild Rumpus Begin!!

on February 23, 2014

I was so excited to do this first birthday cake for one of my friends. I’ve had the chance to do a few first birthday cakes for my friends this far and I have to say, I’m really enjoying doing all of the first birthday cakes for my little girl and her playmates!

This party had an awesome theme – based on the book “Where The Wild Things Are”. One of my personal favourites from my childhood for sure!

My friend knew exactly what kind of cake she wanted – something inspired by the cake she found on Pinterest from a blog on Hostess with the Mostest. It was simple yet a sweet nod to the essence of the wild forest in the book.

The original cake was a fondant cake but my twist on the original was to do it in buttercream with fondant accents.

20140222-213135.jpg

The highlight was watching the birthday boy dig into his smash cake! Now onto designing for next week’s birthday cake!

With best wishes for a “sweet” day!

Cayke


Leave a comment