caymancake

Just another WordPress.com site

As Cute As A Button…

on February 21, 2014

A friend of mine always gets a cake from me for any occasion.  She is one of the people who appreciate the taste and flavor that you get from a scratch baked cake with homemade buttercream.  She also trusts my cake design judgments so she ALWAYS leaves the design up to me.  Sometimes it’s scary to have such freedom – because what if I pick a design that she doesn’t like??? Other times is super exciting because I can try my hand at a theme or technique that I’ve been anxious to try.

This was one of those exciting times!  She was attending a baby shower that was being hosted at her office for a fellow co-worker and signed up to bring the cake.  All she said was she needed a cake that was big enough to feed 20 people and it had a gender neutral design.

Ever since I picked up my Wilton fabric fondant/gumpaste mold I’ve been itching for an excuse to give it a go and this was the perfect opportunity!  I decided to go with “As Cute As A Button” for the theme of the cake.  I dyed my fondant various pastel shades to give it colour without being gender specific, used my funky letters to cut out the phrase and my molds to make the baby and the buttons….

baby close up

Then I baked a single layer third sheet (11″x15″) cake – a super moist vanilla cake with my house buttercream. Iced it white with a white shell border and added all of my cut outs.  To give it a little extra pizzazz I made a large “button” for the baby to sleep on.  Isn’t it cute??

cute as a button

This is such a fun theme – one I would love to do again soon!
With best wishes for a sweet day!

Cayke


Leave a comment