caymancake

Just another WordPress.com site

Shades of Pink

on March 6, 2014

So I did a few last minute cakes this weekend…and ironically, they were all shades of pinks!  It’s funny how cake themes and colour scheme have a tendency to group together from week to week or month to month!  Here’s a glimpse at what I did this weekend!

The first was a 10″ rosette cake (which I still love regardless of how much the design has been used in the cake world!).  It was half vanilla, half strawberry with a vanilla-almond buttercream.  It was such an honour to do this cake for this lady, as she was one of my grandmother’s dearest friends!

ms laurel rose cake 2

The next one was for one of my daughter’s friends!  We’ve all been taking turns celebrating the big ONE and her mother had the brilliant idea to host a cupcake wars!  Each guest brought 6-12 cupcakes and I was asked to bring a small smash cake that coordinated with the party theme.  I also participated but sad to say, I didn’t win that cupcake war! I think I went too adventurous on the flavour – but I’ll get the crown!  This was a lemon-lavender cake with vanilla-lemon buttercream.

analia smash

ana cupcakes

The last pink cake for the weekend was a last minute order again.  They just asked for a square shaped cake for an elderly lady’s birthday and this is what I came up with – something simple yet sweet. This cake was half French vanilla, half strawberry with vanilla buttercream icing and sugar flowers.

ms chokey bday cake 1

Next weekend I have a full line of baby shower cakes – all for little boys! So the themed weekends continue for the moment!

With best wishes for a “sweet” day!

Cayman Cake

Leave a Reply

